Skip to content

Getting Ready for Nanowrimo

October 25, 2012

I thought about participating in Nanowrimo last year and wrote a couple things and didn’t get very far – I maybe lasted a couple days and then life intervened and everything Nanowrimo kind of fell apart.

Things and life are in a much different place this year.  I’ve joined a writer’s group along with two of my kids, and I’ve been listening to a long list of podcasts as I drive back and forth to work that have been a very big education on the current status of the publishing industry, especially focused on science fiction publishing.

So, who knows how much I’ll blog or how I’ll really do with Nanowrimo, but here are my plans:

Starting from Monday until the end of October I’m trying to come up with at least one short story idea per day.  I’ve already got seven counting the one from today – I hope to have more.  At the end of October I should have a nice list of potential story ideas to use during Nanowrimo.

Nanowrimo starts on the first day of November.  I’m not planning on writing a novel for Nanowrimo.  Instead I’ll be writing a short story every four days – or less If I can manage it, which will end up being at least seven stories.  My goal is to have the stories be at least 3000 words, with the first story being called Little Robot in the Woods.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

