Skip to content

Nanowrimo Update – How to build a dimensional boat

November 12, 2012

No sitting around for me – I finished story number three early Sunday, and while Saturday was almost 80 degrees outside, Sunday it dropped down to below freezing and then it snowed, so there wasn’t much to do but sit around, put wood on the fire, and write. (And watch the sheep, the goats, the cows, and the chickens  trudge around looking miserable.  The pig made a nest in the shed and wouldn’t come out.)

So since there wasn’t much else to do, I plowed ahead on story number four.  I think I plowed ahead in the complete wrong direction too, and since this is the official first day that I should be working on it, I think I’m going to start over. 

The problem with it is that somehow I found myself writing in third person present tense.  I don’t like reading or listening to stories in present tense, and I really don’t like writing them in present tense.  I don’t know why it came out that way.

Maybe part of the reason is that I’m writing this in a very different style than the first three stories, where I’m paying much more attention to the way the words sound together.  I’m going for a sort of dreamy, poetry-ish feel, and while I’m good at that in poetry, I’m not so sure I’m good at it in prose.  But then again, Nanowrimo is all about doing things you haven’t done before, and experimenting, and pushing forward no matter how crappy the writing might be.

December is for editing.  November is for creating stuff that needs December.

So, my crappy story’s working title is, “How to build a dimensional boat.’  Dimension as in traveling to a different dimension, not a boat built out of dimensional lumber.  Unless the lumber is from another dimension.  Sheesh.  I don’t even know if that’s a real word.  It’s good enough for a working title though.

My main character is a traveller that is stuck on an island in the Dimensional Sea who has to figure out how to leave the island and travel… to a different island… or something.  I’m still working on some of the concepts obviously.  

I’m glad I still have the full four days to work on it.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

