Skip to content

Nanowrimo’s Over – What Next?

December 3, 2012

NanoEDmo. So here’s the plan… I’ve got the completed stories I worked on for Nanowrimo, a few stories waiting to be finished sitting in the wings, and more stories that I want to start. None of those stories are in any kind of shape for submitting for publication – they’re going to need a lot of editing.   So now that national novel writing month is over, it’s time to start national novel editing month.

For this, I’m not really expecting to get through all of the stories in December.  I’m thinking I want to slow things down a bit, take my time, and really do a good job.

So at most I want to have two stories ready for submission by the end of the month. I’m going to go through a number of editing phases with the stories – here’s a rough list:

Edit for plot – where I look at the overall structure of the story and decide where it needs changes, if any. This could prompt pretty major rewrites.

Edit for content – where I work on making sure the elements of the story move the plot forward.

Edit for word choice – where I remove adverbs and passive voice stuff and make the story more snappy. Good old anglo-saxon words.

Edit for grammar and spelling – where I do a final cleanup and make sure I spell everything right. No stupid mistakes. There’s no use in rushing this part. If I rush, then the story will just get rejected and I’ll end up doing the work on it anyway. Might as well do it right the first time. And now it’s time to go to work.

And one more thing – I’ve heard of nanowrimo, but not nanoDRAWmo…  I don’t think I’m going to officially do it, but here’s another white board crayon drawing for you.

apple

From → Nanowrimo

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

