Skip to content

Pseudopod Flash Contest III

March 1, 2013

Voting for the Pseudopod Flash Contest III  is officially starting this Sunday, and with 143 stories submitted, I’m thinking that it’s going to be a pretty great contest.

I’ve never been a really big fan of horror – especially the gory stuff.  One of my favorite horror movies is the old BBC version of A Woman In Black.  I guess maybe there should be a difference between a horror movie and a scary movie.  The Woman in Black is the scariest movie I’ve ever seen.

But can a book or a story be scary?  Horror seems to be divided into two main horror areas – Physical Peril, and Mental Peril.  I’m not counting Emotional Peril because it’s a byproduct of the other two – so there’s just the wet and the dry horror and on the wet side, sure it’s easy to describe lots of bloody things happening, but at least for me it doesn’t create the feeling of terror that they psychological stuff does.

I’ve had some experience with both in real life.  I’m sure people coming back from Iraq or Afganastan have seen more than their fair share of it, but for me, my only experience is seening a person get ripped apart by a semi-truck on the freeway once.

Seeing it was awful.  I watched the movie Starship Troopers shortly afterward and had to leave or I would have puked.  Stuff like that doesn’t normally bother me, but I’d just seen the real thing and I found that Starship Troopers did a pretty good job of recreating it.

But reading about it?  I dunno.  I think it’s powerful, but less powerful than Mental Peril can be – Like the Woman in Black, and like my grandfather’s ghost stories.  There wasn’t any blood or gore – just the promise that there is a lot more to the world than what we can see and not all of it is nice.

Anyway, the first group of Pseudopod stories will be added on Sunday.  Head on over to the forums and read and cast your votes.

Pseudopod.org

From → Publishing, Writing

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

